Nebraska recognizes “no-fault” divorce. In order to file for a divorce in Nebraska, you or your spouse must be a resident of Nebraska for at least 1 year before filing for divorce and you must prove that the marriage is “irretrievably broken” for it to be dissolved.
How long does it take for a divorce to be final in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, the divorce will be final 30-days from the date the Decree of Dissolution is entered, however, the parties to the action cannot remarry for a period of 6 months following the entry of the divorce decree. The court may order either spouse to pay “spousal support” (alimony) to the other party.
What is the divorce process in Nebraska?
Once you (1) file the Complaint, (2) file the Vital Statistics Certificate, (3) give the Confidential Party Information and Social Security Information forms to the clerk of the district court, and (4) either pay the filing fee or have the filing fee waived by the judge, the clerk will create a file on your divorce …
How are assets divided in a divorce in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, the court distributes marital property based on a set of factors that account for the unique circumstances of the marriage and each spouse’s economic condition at divorce. … If it is equitable and reasonable, the court could give you 90% of the marital property and leave your spouse with the other 10%.
How much does it cost to file for divorce in Nebraska?
You must pay a filing fee at the time of filing your Petition. The filing fee for a divorce is currently $158.00. If you are unable to pay the filing fee and you have a low income, you may obtain permission from the court to have the fees waived.
Is Nebraska a 50/50 divorce state?
No, Nebraska is not a 50/50 community property state. … Equity distribution is based on each spouse’s individual contribution to the marriage and earning potential following the divorce to determine a fair distribution of marital property between the two parties.
Is Nebraska a 50/50 custody State?
Custody laws in Nebraska do not favor one parent over the other due to sex. So, without extenuating circumstances, they try to award 50/50 joint custody when possible. … Schedules can vary based on the parents’ schedules and child’s needs.
Is Nebraska a mother State?
Nebraska statutes make it clear that there is no presumption favoring either the mother or the father. Nebraska has abolished, as have many other states, the maternal preference, which was a presumption that the mother would be most capable of caring for a child during its earliest childhood years.
How is alimony determined in Nebraska?
Unlike child support in Nebraska, there’s no formula for judges to use to calculate alimony. Judges have broad discretion and will focus on ensuring that the dependent spouse has a reasonable time to bridge the period between the divorce and becoming self-supporting.
Can I file for divorce online in Nebraska?
You can obtain the forms online, from the Nebraska Supreme Court’s online self-help center. These are official forms, but you should double-check with your local court rules. The Nebraska Supreme Court offers simple divorce forms for couples with and without children.
What is considered marital property in Nebraska?
Nebraska Marital Property Law
Marital property is property that is acquired or accumulated by either party during the marriage. Marital property does not usually include property acquired by one of the parties through a gift or inheritance.
Is Nebraska a common property state?
Nebraska is NOT a community property state, which means that marital property is not automatically divided 50/50 between the spouses in a divorce case.
Is committing adultery illegal in Nebraska?
Adultery is not a crime in Nebraska but may be considered as a factor in a divorce/custody action.
What can you not do during a divorce?
Top 10 Things NOT to Do When You Divorce
- Don’t Get Pregnant. …
- Don’t Forget to Change Your Will. …
- Don’t Dismiss the Possibility of Collaborative Divorce or Mediation. …
- Don’t Sleep With Your Lawyer. …
- Don’t Take It out on the Kids. …
- Don’t Refuse to See a Therapist. …
- Don’t Wait Until After the Holidays. …
- Don’t Forget About Taxes.
How many couples regret divorce?
While divorce can be the best option for some couples, others may experience divorce regret in the future. According to a 2016 study conducted by Seddans, a law firm in the U.K., 22% of the more than 800 participants regretted getting a divorce.