An uncontested divorce can cost anywhere from $800 to about $1500 for an uncontested divorce in Michigan. The cost of your uncontested divorce can depend on several factors: the complexity of the agreement between you and your spouse.
How long does an uncontested divorce take in Michigan?
In Michigan, there’s a waiting period before the divorce can be granted—it’s two months for couples without kids and six months for couples with children. Even if you and your spouse are in complete agreement about the divorce, the final hearing won’t occur until the waiting period has ended.
How do I file for divorce in Michigan without a lawyer?
It is possible to get a divorce in Michigan without using a lawyer as long as you meet all requirements for an uncontested divorce. You and your spouse must agree on all parts of the settlement, including asset division, alimony, child custody and support and all other related matters.
How do I file for an uncontested divorce in Michigan?
In an uncontested divorce, the Plaintiff must complete all of the forms filed in a Consent Divorce. In addition, however, he or she must file these forms: > A Summons, which gives the Defendant 21 days to answer the Complaint if he or she is in Michigan and 28 days if he or she is out of state.
Can you file for divorce online in MI?
For those seeking an inexpensive divorce in the state of Michigan, online divorce is an easy, affordable and fast solution. Online divorce may be appropriate for couples who have an uncontested case. The step-by-step process of preparing divorce documents at Onlinedivorce.com makes it easy on you.
How can I get a quick divorce in Michigan?
To file for divorce in Michigan you need to follow the following steps:
- Determine if you can file for divorce. …
- Reach an agreement. …
- Find the proper court to file paperwork. …
- Fill out the correct forms. …
- File your forms with the court. …
- Serve your spouse. …
- Attend all court hearings. …
- File the final documents.
How long after divorce can you remarry in Michigan?
State waiting times for remarriage after divorce
|To remarry after divorce||To apply for a marriage license|
|Michigan||No restrictions||3 days|
|Minnesota||No restrictions||5 days|
|Mississippi||No restrictions||No restrictions|
|Missouri||No restrictions||3 days|
How is debt divided in a divorce in Michigan?
Marital Debt Is Divided Fairly
Each spouse is responsible for a fair share of the marital debt. This usually means each person has to pay about half of the total debt.
Do both parties have to sign divorce papers in Michigan?
Your spouse does not need to sign it. The terms of the divorce will be those laid out in the original divorce complaint, as long as those terms comply with Michigan law. For example, parenting arrangements must be in the children’s best interests, and the division of marital property must be equitable.
Is Michigan a 50/50 divorce state?
Michigan is an equitable distribution state. This means courts will attempt to divide property and assets in a divorce in a fair and equal way but it doesn’t mean that the assets will always be divided on a 50/50 basis. In a divorce, there are marital assets and separate property.
Is adultery a crime in Michigan?
Laws § 750.29.) Adultery is a felony-level crime in Michigan, but the state will only prosecute it if the innocent spouse files a criminal complaint within a year of the offense.
How long is spousal support in Michigan?
How long you would pay this spousal support is debatable under Michigan alimony laws, but a rule of thumb is one third of the marriage, so in this case about 8 years. This can vary and is based on other factors, but this will give you a general idea of how spousal support works in Michigan.
Who can serve divorce papers in Michigan?
You can ask a friend or relative to serve the papers, or you can pay your local sheriff’s department, police department, or a process server. Whoever serves the papers must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a party in your case.
What does uncontested mean in a divorce?
The first is an “uncontested” divorce—which is where both spouses agree on all issues concerning the divorce, including but not limited to the division of marital property and debts, child custody, child support, and spousal support (“alimony”).
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Michigan?
From a legal perspective, it generally does not matter who files for divorce first. … Filing first creates an opportunity to present the court with various orders before your spouse is notified of the Michigan divorce proceedings.
What is the best online divorce service?
The 6 Best Online Divorce Services of 2021
- Best Overall: LegalZoom.
- Best Speed: 3StepDivorce.
- Best Value: DivorceWriter.
- Best for Simplicity: CompleteCase.com.
- Best Legal Assistance: Rocket Lawyer.
- Best for Explanation of State Laws: MyDivorcePapers.com.