Once the Alaska divorce paperwork has been filed in court, it usually takes 30 to 90 days for a divorce to be final. The start to finish time of the divorce may vary depending on the caseload of the court and the availability of judges to sign the final Decree of Dissolution.
How long does uncontested divorce take in Alaska?
For a simple dissolution as part of an uncontested divorce, the entire process can be completed in as little as 30 to 90 days, depending on the court’s backlog of cases and availability of a judge to review your filed documents.
How can I get a quick divorce in Alaska?
Filing the Complaint for Uncontested Divorce in Alaska
To begin your uncontested divorce in Alaska, you will need to file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. There are two versions of the petition—which one you should fill out depends on whether you have children under age 19 with your spouse.
How expensive is divorce in Alaska?
There is a new $75 fee in divorce and custody cases to file a Motion to Modify Child Custody, Visitation or Support or Spousal Maintenance or Property Division.
|Type||Effective January 1, 2018|
|Divorce, Dissolution, Custody or Paternity||$250|
Can you file for divorce online in Alaska?
When you have completed your online divorce documents for Alaska, print the originals and make at least two copies of all forms. You will need to file the original with the court clerk, while keeping one set of copies for your records, and serving the other set to your spouse.
Is adultery illegal in Alaska?
Under Alaska divorce laws, adultery is one of the acceptable grounds (reasons) for divorce. Some other grounds are: conviction of a felony. willful desertion for a period of one year.
How long do you have to be married to get alimony in Alaska?
The duration of payments is determined by a judge in Alaska family court. Alimony length is usually based on length of marriage – one commonly used standard for alimony duration is that 1 year of alimony is paid every three years of marriage (however, this is not always the case in every state or with every judge).
How do I file for separation in Alaska?
Like many states, Alaska allows couples to request a legal separation instead of divorce. Either spouse must first file a petition (request) with the court asking for intervention. The petition should include pertinent information like each spouses’ name, address, and dates for the marriage and separation.
What is the difference between a dissolution and a divorce?
The primary difference between divorce and dissolution is whether or not the parties are alleging fault of the other spouse as the grounds for the divorce. … On the other hand, a dissolution can be thought of as a no-fault divorce. Fault grounds are not required for a dissolution.
What are the divorce laws in Alaska?
Alaska is a “no fault” divorce state, which allows for divorce on the basis of an “incompatibility of temperament.” This means that even if your spouse is entirely opposed to ending your marriage, you can still request, and receive, a divorce from the Court.
How is child support determined in Alaska?
In Alaska in situations where one parent has primary custody, child support is based upon the earnings of the noncustodial parent. If there is shared or divided custody, the child support is based on the income of both parties.
How do I void my marriage in Alaska?
Alaska does not have an official court action called “annulment of marriage.” However, you can ask a judge to declare that your marriage is “void,” which has a very similar effect. A “void marriage” was never valid from the outset because the parties didn’t have the capacity (legal ability) to enter into a marriage.
Is Alaska an alimony state?
A monthly payment of money made from one spouse to the other. Some people call this alimony, but in Alaska it is called spousal support. The court may order spousal support to be paid before the divorce is final, after the divorce, or both.
How are court papers served in Alaska?
How do I serve answers, motions, oppositions and other documents? You can serve most documents in your case (except the summons and complaint) by first class US mail or hand delivery. This means you can serve answers, regular motions and oppositions by first class US mail or hand delivery.
How can a marriage be dissolved?
A divorce or dissolution strictly means the legal process of formally ending a marriage or civil partnership. You must follow a specific procedure. In most cases this is straightforward. Many people arrange their own divorce or dissolution with little or no legal advice.
Is Alaska a community property state for divorce?
Alaska is a community property state, which means that virtually all assets and debt acquired during the duration of a marriage are considered marital property, and are thus divided equally between the spouses in the event of a divorce. … Wages and income earned by either spouse during the marriage.